Infant Massage

Last week Annabelle started to fully crawl, and a few days after that, she started pulling herself up on our couch and is walking along it as she holds onto it.  Her motive?  I’m pretty sure it’s not Toby, and is my laptop.  She loves to bang her little hands on the keys and she looks so proud of herself as she mimics her mom and dad.

So, here’s a little story about Annabelle the crawling baby.

Yesterday I brought her to the Ashburn library for a workshop on infant massage.  At almost nine months old, Annabelle was an old lady among seven week old to three month old babies.  Still, I thought, why not give the workshop a chance?

First we removed the baby’s onesies.  Then we lay them on their backs and said, “Do you want a massage?”  I should have known right from this moment that infant massage was not going to be Annabelle’s forte.  She answered me in her monster voice, a scratchy tone that she uses when she wants to be heard.   To my surprise, the baby next to us (who was also nine months old), reached out for Annabelle’s hand and started talking to her with a similar monster voice.  The woman leading the workshop began instructing us all to make heart shapes on our baby’s chests.  Annabelle gave me a dirty look as I rubbed oil into my hands and made three heart shaped strokes over her chest.  “It clears their lungs,” said the instructor.  Annabelle just glared at me and slapped my hands away.

I decided to bring out my keys.  My keys always work in making a fussy Annabelle a little bit happier.  I think she considers Mom’s keys a forbidden toy.  Anway, I hand her the keys.  She sits up.  I attempt to rub her shoulders and stroke her under her arms.  She ignores me and continues to chew on the keys.

Then she notices the paper instructions that another mom had propped up beside us.  Annabelle decides to crawl over, grab the instructions, and starts to eat them.  I apologized to the other mom, returned the instructions to her, and laid Annabelle back down to try and continue with the massage.

Annabelle then crawled back over towards the other mom and her baby and started to poke her fingers in the baby’s face.  At this point, my optimism for infant massage was deflated.  The other parents made comments like, “She’s an active one, isn’t she?”  I nodded and laughed, but could tell that my sweet little baby and I were not cut out for infant massage.

In any case, if anyone wants some infant massage oil, let me know.  I don’t think we’ll be using ours.

September 13, 2007. cute.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

